Country Profile

Official Name Republic of Angola
Capital Luanda
President José Eduardo dos Santos
Location Western Region of Southern Africa


North: Republic of Congo and Democratic Republic of Congo
East: Republic of Namibia
South: Republic of Namibia
West: Atlantic Ocean

Surface 1.246.700 Km2
Extension of the Atlantic Coast 1.650 km
Political-administrative Division 18 provinces, 163 municipalities, 475 communes
Population 24.383.301 (census 2014)
Official Currency Kwanza
Official Language Portuguese

Brief Historical Summary

Some historians have argued that most of the territory of Angola was initially inhabited by people of non-Bantu origin, the indigenous Khoisan, from the Lower Paleolithic. These people were eventually pushed to the south of the territory by successive waves of Bantu immigration which continued up until the late nineteenth century.

Arrival of the Portuguese, commanded by Diogo Cão: 1482.

Political Origin: 500 years of Portuguese colonization (1482/1975).

Foundation of First City – Luanda: 1605.

Fight for National Liberation Struggle: from 1961 to 1975 (14 years).

National Liberation Movements: Movement of Liberation of Angola (MPLA), National Liberation Front of Angola (FNLA), National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA).

Independence: 11 de November de 1975.

First Goverment: MPLA.

First President: Agostinho Neto (1975-1979).

Current president: José Eduardo dos Santos (21 of September, 1979 to date).

Civil War – between the national liberation movement and the Enclave Liberation Front of Cabinda (FLEC): 11 November 1975 to 4 April 2002.

First Free Elections – proceeded by the Bicesse Protocol of 31 of May de 1991 between the MPLA and UNITA: September 1992.

The Lusaka Protocol: 20 Novembro, 1994.

Government of inauguration of Unity and National Reconciliation (GURN): 11 April 1997.

The second legislative elections was won by the MPLA with more than 80% of the vote: 5 September 2008.

The general elections was won by the MPLA with more than 72% of the vote: 31 August, 2012.

Additional Information

Angola is a democratic country with a multiparty political system and a free market economy.

The territory of Angola is twice as big as Great Britain and about fourteen times larger than Portugal.

Approximately 65 percent of the territory is situated between 1000 and 1600 meters altitude.

Angola is in twelfth position in terms of volume of population (million), among the 54 countries in Africa.

Profile of the provinces of Angola
Province Area (Km2) Capital Governor Population
Bengo 33.016 Caxito João Miranda 351.579
Benguela 39.826 Benguela Isaac dos Anjos 2.036.662
Bié 70.314 Kuito Boavida Neto 1.338.923
Cabinda 7.270 Cabinda Matilde da Lomba 688.285
Cunene 87.342 Onjiva Kundi Paihama 965.288
Kwanza-Norte 24.110 N’dalatando Henrique Junior 427.971
Kwanza-Sul 55.600 Sumbe Eusebio Teixeira 1.793.787
Kuando Kubango 199.049 Menongue Pedro Mutindi 510.369
Huambo 34.270 Huambo João B. Kussumua 1.896.147
Huíla 79.022 Lubango Marcelino Tyipinge 2.354.398
Luanda 2.417 Luanda Higino Carneiro 6.542.944
Lunda-Norte 103.000 Dundo Ernesto Muangala 799.950
Lunda-Sul 77.367 Saurimo Cândida Narciso 516.077
Malanje 97.602 Malanje Norberto dos Santos 968.135
Moxico 223.023 Luena J. Ernesto dos Santos 727.594
Namibe 57.091 Namibe Rui Falcão 471.613
Uige 58.698 Uíge Paulo Pombolo 1.426.354
Zaire 40.130 M’Banza Congo José Joanes André 567.225

62.3% of the population resides in urban areas, and Luanda is the province with the lowest geographical extent but with the greatest concentration of population: 27% of the country’s total (census 2014).

There are sixteen ethnic groups, most of which are of Bantu origin. The ethnic groups of non-Bantu origin are constituted mostly by Khoisan.

Angola has about forty-two national languages, the most widely spoken are Fiote, Kikongo, Kimbundo, Kwanyama, Mbunda, Nganguela, Nyaneka, Tchokwe and Umbundo.

The weather in Angola consists of two seasons: the rainy season, which occurs between the months of September and May, and the dry season, from May to September. The rainy season is the hottest, with an average temperature of 27 °C maximum and 17 °C minimum.

The “Welwitschia Mirabilis”, the Namib Desert, and the giant sable antelope in Malange, Angola are native species and are a few of the country’s national symbols. The giant sable antelope is a species considered endangered by the International Union for Conservation of Nature.

The main river of Angola is Kwanza, which also gives its name to the national currency. It is 1000 km in length, of which only 240 are navigable. The other three major rivers are the Kubango which is 975 km long, the Cunene which is 800 km long, and Zaire at 150 km long, all of these are navigable.

Angola is potentially rich in mineral resources. It is estimated that their sub-soil has thirty-five of the forty-five most important minerals in world trade, the most notable of which are oil, natural gas, diamonds, phosphates, bituminous substances, iron, copper, magnesium, gold and ornamental rocks.

In Angola there are various organized religions in churches or similar organizations. The vast majority of Angolans are of Christian beliefs or those inspired by Christianity.

National Holidays and Celebrations

National Holidays
January, 1st New Year
February, 4th Day of the Start of Armed Struggle for National Liberation
March, 8th International Women’s Day
Movable between February and March Carnival
April, 4th Day of Peace and National Reconciliation
Movable between March/22 and April/25 Good Friday
May, 1st International Workers Day
September, 17th National Hero’s Day
November, 2nd Hallowmas
November, 11th National Independence Day
December, 25th Christmas

National Celebrations
January, 4th Colonial Repression Martyrs of the day
March, 2nd Day of Angolan Women
March, 15th Navy Fight Expansion of National Liberation Day
April, 14th Angolan Youth Day
May, 25th Africa Day
June, 1st International Children’s Day
June, 16th Day of the African Child
November, 30th National Elderly Day
December, 10th International Human Rights Day

Relevant Legislation

The Constitution
The Constitution of Angola is the supreme law of the Angolan nation, having been approved by the National Assembly on January 27, 2010.

The new Constitution affirms and establishes among its structuring principles pluralist and representative democracy, the unitary nature of the State, the appreciation of work and respect for human dignity, free economic and entrepreneurship, social justice, the participation of citizens and the rule of law.

Other Laws of Interest
General Law of Angola Work

Nationality Act (2015)

Law on Issuance and Use of National Passport

Census of Military Law

Private Investment Law

Legal Regime of Foreigners in the Republic of Angola

Regulation on Legal Regime of Foreigners in Angola